We’ve got a special treat for you all: an interview with Stephanie from Adventures in Babywearing! Stephanie lives outside of Chicago with her family, including three boys and her youngest, a beautiful little girl named Ivy.  We met this summer and immediately connected.  Stephanie is a force of nature–all positive energy, loving kindness, and a genuine advocate for babywearing and engaged parenting.  She brought her own special charisma to our recent Sakura Bloom Triathlon which was not only a great success, but super fun too.  We’re thrilled to share her interview with you.

We love your blog!  What made you want to start a blog? I had a friend who kept a blog while she and her husband lived in Scotland to keep in touch with family. One day I decided to just start my own! I had just given birth to my third son and was on a new parenting journey- moving to a more Attachment Parenting style. I had a lot to talk about! :)

What has delighted and/or surprised you the most about blogging?
I have been so surprised that I’ve been blogging for 4 years now and it’s still not getting old. I continue to find true relationships from it, and I met my closest friends through blogging!

One of the great things about your blog is how it showcases everyday parenting, and babywearing as part of the everyday as well as the extraordinary.  What would you say has been the most “adventurous” part of Adventures in Babywearing? Oh, gee. The most adventurous part of my blog has probably been the many ups and downs of figuring myself out in real life and in the online world. I dipped my toes in reviews and giveaways early on before it was really common or accepted on blogs, and have been able to go on blogging trips and such. I don’t really feel like that is a fit for my blog anymore as it seems to interfere with my parenting style (I don’t like to leave my kids!) but I’m thankful for all the opportunities I’ve had in the past. I tried some things, liked some of them, thought some things were a mistake, and I let everything help me to do better!

What are your favorite babywearing tips for new parents? The new parent babywearing tips I always suggest: Get a ring sling, don’t ONLY do the cradle carry, and just do what feels best for you. There’s no magic number as to how many hours a day you need to wear your baby, or where you should do it. No pressure- it’s all about knowing your child and them knowing you, then you know what’s best for each other.

Its been a blast doing the Sakura Bloom Triathlon with you!  Now that you’ve had the chance to see lots of our slings and try a bunch out, what is your favorite Sakura Bloom sling and why? It’s SO hard to choose my favorite Sakura sling. For a while it was my linen essential sling in the berry~spice. It’s just so beautiful and it feels so good when I wear it. But then I found I was always grabbing the Sakura Stripe silk artisan – no matter if I was just going to the store or somewhere fancy. HOWEVER, my silk luxe sling is something I probably would choose to out of all of them if I have to pick. It’s just amazing. But don’t make me choose! Too hard.I have to consider color and feel and fit and weather and my mood…

A huge Sakura Bloom thanks to Stephanie–for this interview, for the Triathlon, and for always being a bright spot in our day!

