carrie_heather2What’s even better than sharing baby sling love with your children?  Having a close friend who does as well.  At Sakura Bloom, we hear a lot from parents who are teaching the ropes to their friends and family, showing them the hows, whens, and whys of using a baby sling.  Our dream is to reach the point where everyone on the block knows how to put on and use a sling.

Two women in Chicago are helping us get closer to this goal by spreading the word with style and care.  We’re thrilled to introduce them to you in this interview, two of our favorite Sakura Bloom mothers: Carrie and Heather!

Tell us about yourselves, your families, and your favorite things.

Heather - I’ve been married to Mark for 8 years and have two kids, Moriah who is 3 and Isaac who is 8 months old.  I stay at home with the kids and love being a Mom.  My first experience with slings was when I was on a missions trip to Malawi, Africa in my college days.  I always thought that someday when I had kids of my own I’d love to use the simplicity of a sling.  I like to get my hands into many different crafts and hobbies and always seem to be doing some project.

heather-2pics2

Carrie – I have degrees in math and physics.  When my son came home, I expected to go back to graduate school a few months later.  Well, last words and all.  Turns out the little man needed me with him.  I am now the mother of two children, both born in South Korea.  My son is almost four and my daughter who just turned 2.  We live in Chicago, but still miss our hometown of Ann Arbor and hope to move back there someday.  My favorite things?  SHOES!  And BAGS!  And SLINGS!  Seriously, I freely admit that I have a passion for heels, handbags, and Sakura Bloom slings.  Did you know you can carry a baby in a Sakura Bloom sling while wearing 4″ heels and still be comfy?  Because you can.  I’ve done it.

I work part time while my husband is with the kids as a photographer.  It is something I fell into and really love.  I love the math side of it; I’m always seeing angles, etc. while I am shooting.  I think perhaps once the kids are in school, I will go back to grad school.  But we’ll see.

carrie-2pics2

You two became friends through your love of baby carriers.  What have you learned from each other over the years?

Heather - I learned my love for ring slings from Carrie.  I used mostly mei tais and wraps and saw how easy a ring sling was with her kids and decided to give it a try.

Carrie - To not be such a stereotypical guilty mother!  Heather also taught me how to wrap.  I think I introduced her to Sakura Blooms? (Yes, she says I did)

People often can’t refrain from commenting on babies in slings.  What are the best comments you’ve received from strangers?

Heather - My favorite is always “I wish they had one of those when I had babies”.  I mostly just love being an example and then get such joy out of seeing my friends buy a sling for themselves.  Isaac is a real cuddler so lately I’ve been getting comments about how cozy the sling is and how much he seems to love it.

Carrie - The one I get most often is, “That’s the best seat in the house!”  Darn straight it is. Love it.

heather-beach

Do you share slings?

Heather – I’ll try them on… that’s how I fell in love with Sakura Bloom ring slings =)

Carrie - We have.  Not often enough though!

What do you wish all new parents knew about baby slings?

Heather - They’re simplistic.  They also encourage bonding and getting to know your child and his/her needs.  It also allows you to get other stuff done and to get around easily when a stroller isn’t always convenient.

Carrie - That they are the best things ever.  Seriously.  My babies are so comfortable in slings and I love having them close to me.  That and Sakura Blooms are comfortable and stylish!  Can’t beat that. They are fabulous in the city, as strollers just don’t always work so well on public transit.  I love how easily I can adjust my children in a Sakura Bloom from my hip to my lap (or from my back or from my front…) while riding a train.

I wish I could give every adoptive parent a sling.  Using them is probably the single best thing we did with both our children to encourage attachment.

carrie-heather-picks3

If you could choose just one Sakura Bloom sling for each other, which one would it be and why?

Heather - Surf Luxe because of the amazing support for her kids and the color would be stunning on her and her kids.

Carrie - Sol Luxe because she looks amazing in orange and I hate her for it. ;-)

carrie-heather-2pics

(Thanks to Carrie, Heather, and their beautiful families from all of us at Sakura Bloom.  Next time in Chicago!)

